EV Charging Help
Residential · News & Insights6 min readUpdated Aug 11, 2026

Managed Charging Comes to Rivian: How Utility Programs Can Trim Your Home Charging Bill

EnergyHub and Rivian announced a partnership on February 24, 2026 intended to make Rivian vehicles eligible for passive and active managed-charging programs across North America. Managed charging shifts your charging to cheaper off-peak hours and lets the utility briefly pause it during grid stress. The savings come from off-peak rates plus any utility enrollment credits, so the payoff depends entirely on your utility's program. The release does not specify an in-app enrollment workflow or an eligible-model list, so confirm those details with your utility's program.

By EV Charging Help editorial teamFor homeownersJun 16, 2026
On this page

On February 24, 2026, EnergyHub and Rivian announced a partnership intended to make Rivian vehicles eligible for passive and active "managed charging" programs across North America. For Rivian drivers, this opens a path to let a utility influence when the vehicle pulls power in exchange for savings. The upside is real but modest, and it comes with a small, deliberate loss of control. It is worth understanding that trade before you opt in.

What "managed charging" actually means

Managed charging is the unglamorous, useful cousin of vehicle-to-home. Your charger still only pushes power into the car, one direction, but the timing is handled for you instead of starting the moment you plug in. Two things happen. Most nights, charging shifts into the cheapest, lowest-demand hours. Once in a while, when the grid is strained, the utility can slow or briefly pause your charging for a stretch, which the industry calls a demand response event. In both cases you typically set a ready-by time, and the system aims to have the car at your target by then.

The logic is simple: an EV sitting in a garage overnight does not care whether it charges at 9 p.m. or 3 a.m., as long as it is full by morning. Utilities will pay a little for that flexibility because it helps them avoid running expensive peak power plants.

This is not theoretical. In July 2025, ChargeScape, a managed-charging venture owned by BMW, Ford, Honda, and Nissan, and PSEG Long Island set out to enroll more than 4,000 BMW and 2,200 Ford drivers in the utility's peak load reduction program. The EnergyHub and Rivian partnership is aimed at bringing Rivian owners into programs like it.

What Rivian and EnergyHub announced

EnergyHub is a managed-charging aggregator, the software layer that connects utilities to automakers' vehicles and other flexible home devices. On February 24, 2026, EnergyHub and Rivian announced a partnership intended to make Rivian vehicles eligible for passive and active managed-charging programs across North America. The release does not specify an in-app enrollment workflow or an eligible-model list, so which programs are live, how you enroll, and which Rivian models qualify are details to confirm with your own utility rather than assume.

Looking further out, the Rivian R2 is expected to add bidirectional charging, a larger step than managed charging because it sends energy back rather than just shifting when you draw it. That is the vehicle-to-home and vehicle-to-grid story, and most of it is still in front of us.

How it compares to doing it yourself

If you already have a time-of-use rate, you can capture most of the savings on your own with a charging schedule. Managed charging adds utility-run optimization and, in some programs, enrollment or per-event bill credits, in exchange for handing over some control of the timing.

ApproachWhat you doWhere the savings come fromWhat you give up
Plug in wheneverNothingNone; you pay your normal rateNothing
Time-of-use rate, self-scheduledSet a nightly charge windowThe peak-to-off-peak price gapYou manage it yourself
Managed charging (utility program)Enroll through your utility's programOff-peak charging plus any utility creditsSome timing control during grid events

Who this helps, and what to do now

If you charge a Rivian at home overnight and your utility runs a managed-charging or time-of-use program, this is close to free money, because you were going to charge overnight anyway. The first step is to check whether your utility actually runs a managed-charging program that accepts Rivian vehicles, since coverage is a growing patchwork rather than a nationwide switch. The EnergyHub and Rivian release does not list eligible models or describe an enrollment workflow, so confirm both with your utility's program before counting on them.

How much you save depends entirely on your utility. It comes from two places: charging during cheaper hours, and any enrollment or per-event credits the program pays. To see what the off-peak side alone is worth on your rate, run your numbers in our home charging cost calculator before and after moving your charging to overnight.

The caveats

It only matters if your utility participates, and many do not yet. During a demand response event the utility can pause or throttle your charging. Whether you get a guaranteed ready-by time and the ability to override an event depends on your specific program's terms; the EnergyHub and Rivian release does not spell those out, so read the enrollment agreement before opting in. The per-vehicle flexibility is real but small: ChargeScape, another aggregator, has reported delivering up to about 5 kW of load reduction per vehicle per event in 2024, so across the industry the grid value is a fleet story more than a per-driver windfall. Treat the bill savings as a modest, steady line item, not a reason to buy the truck. And know that enrolling shares your charging data with the utility through the program's aggregator.

Bottom line

Managed charging reaching Rivian is a small, sensible win. If your utility offers a program that accepts your vehicle, you let your overnight charging be scheduled for you, save a little, and help the grid. It is not vehicle-to-home, and it will not slash your bill. Check whether your utility offers a program, read the enrollment terms, and treat it as the low-effort optimization it is.


Last factually verified: June 16, 2026, with corrections applied August 11, 2026, against the EnergyHub and Rivian managed-charging partnership announcement (February 24, 2026) via Utility Dive; ChargeScape's formation and membership per BMW Group press releases (September 2023 and the later Nissan addition); the ChargeScape and PSEG Long Island enrollment figures from their July 2025 announcement; and ChargeScape's per-vehicle demand-response figure via Utility Dive. Program availability and savings vary by utility and are point-in-time. We have no referral arrangement with Rivian, EnergyHub, ChargeScape, or any utility; this reflects independent judgment.


Corrections (August 11, 2026): An earlier version of this article was built around a reported June 16, 2026 Rivian and ChargeScape announcement with enrollment and controls inside the Rivian app; we could not verify that announcement against a primary source. The verified partnership is between EnergyHub and Rivian, announced February 24, 2026, and that release does not describe an in-app enrollment workflow or an eligible-model list. Details attributed to the unverified announcement, including eligibility of every current Rivian EV and specific ready-by and override terms, have been removed.

Sources & verificationLast verified Jun 16, 2026

This article draws on 6 primary sources, cited inline where each figure appears. We re-check the numbers when incentive amounts, regulations, or product availability change.

Last updated Aug 11, 2026

ShareLinkedInXEmail
Keep reading
For homeowners

Bidirectional Charging in 2026: What V2H, V2G, and V2L Actually Mean for Homeowners

Bidirectional charging covers three distinct things: V2L (run appliances from the car), V2H (power your house through a backup panel), and V2G (sell energy back to the grid). As of Q2 2026, V2H is genuinely buyable from GM, Tesla, and a handful of others, but Ford has discontinued its Home Integration System. V2L is common and cheap. V2G remains rare and depends on your utility. Expect $3,500 to $15,000 installed for a real V2H setup.

Updated Aug 20267 min read
For both

Federal 30C EV Charger Tax Credit Ended June 30, 2026: What It Was and Who Could Claim It

The 30C credit ended June 30, 2026 under the One Big Beautiful Bill Act. Residential: 30% up to $1,000. Commercial: 6% base or 30% with prevailing wage, up to $100,000 per port. Tax-exempt entities including churches and nonprofits claimed via elective pay. Two disqualifiers ruled out most claims: the eligible census tract requirement, and 'placed in service' meaning operational, not contracted. Property placed in service after the deadline cannot claim it.

Updated Aug 202612 min read
For homeowners

A New Charging Network Just Beat Tesla on Customer Satisfaction. Here's Why It Matters for Home Charging.

J.D. Power's 2026 U.S. Electric Vehicle Experience Public Charging Study, released August 12, found that IONNA (807 out of 1,000), Mercedes-Benz Charging Network (797), and Rivian Adventure Network (755) all scored higher than Tesla's Supercharger network (701) on customer satisfaction with DC fast charging, the first time Tesla has not led the ranking. Overall DC fast charging satisfaction rose 12 points to 666 and failed-charging visits fell to a record-low 12%, but public Level 2 satisfaction dropped 12 points to 595 on payment and ease-of-charging complaints. For home-charging owners, the finding that matters most is the Level 2 one: the public plug getting worse is one more reason the box in your garage stays the more reliable option, while the DC fast picture is now genuinely more competitive for road trips.

Updated Aug 20268 min read

Want the complete homeowner's guide?

The Home EV Charging Guide covers everything from whether you need Level 2 to installation, incentives, and the best brands. Free, just enter your email.

The Weekly EV Charging Briefing

One email a week. Just EV news that matters.

By subscribing you agree to our Privacy Policy. Unsubscribe any time.