EV Charging Help
Residential · Costs & Incentives8 min read

What DC Fast Charging Costs Per kWh in 2026, Network by Network

As of November 3, 2026, a public DC fast charger costs about $0.55 per kWh on a national average for non-members, according to the DCFC Tracker price index. By network the averages run from $0.55 at Rivian's public sites to $0.64 at EVgo, with Tesla's standard rate at $0.62, Electrify America at $0.61, and Pilot Flying J at $0.59. Location moves the price more than the network does: Electrify America runs about $0.19 per kWh higher in California than in Alabama, and Hawaii averages more than double Nebraska. Tesla's paid membership cuts its average by about 30 percent. The figures are peak-rate site averages from a third-party tracker, so confirm the price on the screen before you charge.

By EV Charging Help editorial teamFor homeownersNov 3, 2026
On this page

On November 3, 2026, the average public DC fast charger in the United States cost about $0.55 per kWh for a driver without a membership. That is the national figure from the DCFC Tracker price index, which prices 12,409 sites and 69,514 stalls. It sits about three times above the roughly 18 cents per kWh the average U.S. household pays for electricity at home (EIA, August 2026 data). Fast charging is a convenience product, and the price reflects that.

The national average hides most of what matters when you are about to plug in. The network sets a rough band, the state moves the number more than the network does, and a membership can move it more than either. This page lays out all three, with a date on every figure.

How to read these numbers

Every price below comes from DCFC Tracker, an independent price tracker that collects posted rates from the networks. Three details of its method shape what the numbers mean:

  • Where a site uses time-of-use pricing, the tracker records its peak rate. Averages therefore lean toward the high end of what a driver pays.
  • Averages are unweighted across sites. A rural site counts the same as a busy metro hub.
  • Free sites and per-minute-only sites are excluded. The tracker states that prices "reflect the rate published at the last sync, which may differ from the rate charged at the stall."

So treat these as a map of the market, not a quote. The price on the charger screen or in the network's app before you start a session is the only price that binds.

Average price by network, November 3, 2026

NetworkAverage per kWhSites trackedWhat to know
EVgo$0.639891Unchanged from October. Median $0.61.
Tesla Supercharger (standard rate)$0.6242,398Members average $0.434. Up from $0.604 in May.
Electrify America$0.6131,196Down 0.3% from October after a summer of increases.
Pilot Flying J$0.589not reportedFlat since May, within a few tenths of a cent.
Rivian Adventure Network (non-Rivian rate)$0.550not reportedRivian owners average $0.482.

Sources: DCFC Tracker reports for EVgo, Tesla Supercharger, Electrify America, and the reports index, all with data as of November 3, 2026. November reports finalize on November 30, so these figures can still shift by a cent or two.

Two things stand out. First, the spread between the cheapest and most expensive network average is under 10 cents. Choosing a network on price alone moves your bill less than you might expect. Second, the direction this year has been up. Tesla's standard average climbed from $0.604 in May to $0.624 in October, with the biggest jumps in September (2.05%) and October (1.74%).

Electrify America's year tells the same story with a sharper edge. The tracker's June 2026 report logged price increases at 760 Electrify America sites and cuts at only 53, with an average move on repriced sites of plus 8.3%. The June average was $0.617. Through the fall the network has eased back, and the November report so far shows 26 cuts, at least nine at Walmart locations moving from $0.56 to $0.48, and no increases. The average is $0.613.

The state spread is wider than the network spread

Where the charger sits changes the price more than who owns it. Within a single network:

  • Electrify America: California averages $0.693 per kWh across 301 sites. Alabama averages $0.507 across 9. New York, with 87 sites, averages $0.539 and Utah $0.515. The gap between the top and bottom of the table is about 19 cents.
  • EVgo: New Hampshire averages $0.680 and Nevada $0.570, an 11-cent range. California, where EVgo has 413 tracked sites, averages $0.665 and Texas $0.581.
  • Tesla Supercharger (standard rate): Washington, D.C. averages $0.91, Hawaii $0.84, and California and Arizona $0.74 each. Nebraska averages $0.41, Missouri $0.48, and Texas $0.52. The gap between D.C. and Nebraska is 50 cents, though D.C. has only 3 tracked Tesla sites and Nebraska 6, so treat the extremes as small samples.

Across all networks, the tracker's national page lists the five most expensive states for non-members as Hawaii ($1.062), Washington, D.C. ($0.695), New Jersey ($0.692), California ($0.630), and Connecticut ($0.617). The five cheapest are Nebraska ($0.391), Iowa ($0.441), Missouri ($0.450), Mississippi ($0.465), and Vermont ($0.469). Hawaii costs more than two and a half times Nebraska.

The pattern follows local electricity costs, which feed through to the network's price. A fast charger pays utility demand charges on its peak draw, and states with high commercial rates, high demand charges, or high land costs price accordingly. For more on how that works, see DC Fast Charging ROI: Why the Math Is Different.

Memberships change the math

The rate you see for non-members is not what every driver pays. Tesla's data shows the largest effect. Its member average was $0.434 per kWh against $0.624 standard, so members pay about 30% less. The tracker lists the membership at $12.99 per month, which by the tracker's math pays for itself for a non-Tesla driver past about 68 kWh of fast charging a month. That works out to a few road-trip stops or a regular public charging habit. The tracker describes the member rate as what Tesla drivers pay automatically and what other EV drivers unlock with Tesla's paid Supercharging membership.

Other networks sell subscriptions too, and those discounts are smaller and change often. The tracker's figures for Electrify America, EVgo, and the rest are non-member peak rates, so a subscription would take something off them. Check the plan terms in the network's app, because they are set by the network and not tracked here.

What it costs to fill up

A rough cost for a session, from the averages above. A driver adding 40 kWh, about 50 percent of a typical 80 kWh pack, pays roughly:

  • $22 at the national average of $0.55
  • $25 at Tesla's standard average of $0.624
  • $26 at EVgo's average of $0.639
  • $17 at a Tesla member rate of $0.434
  • $7 at a typical home rate of 18 cents

Nobody pays an average. At the cheapest and most expensive states, the same 40 kWh runs from about $16 to about $42 on non-member rates. The home column is the reason most drivers charge at home and use fast charging for trips. For home costs in detail, see What Home Charging Actually Costs.

The kWh price is also not the whole bill. Idle fees apply if you leave the car plugged in after charging ends, and some sites add a session fee. Public EV Charging Idle Fees by Network covers what each network bills for overstaying.

For site hosts: price against the local market

If you are setting a price for chargers you own, the tables above are the local-market benchmark to start from. The spread matters here too. A host in Nebraska pricing at the Hawaii level would be roughly 2.7 times the going rate and would see it in utilization. A host in California pricing at the national average is giving margin away, because the local market already sits at $0.66 to $0.74 depending on the network (EVgo $0.665, Electrify America $0.693, Tesla standard $0.736 in California).

Check three things before copying any network's number:

  1. Your own cost floor. Electricity cost, including demand charges, plus payment and platform fees. The market rate is only useful above that floor.
  2. The nearest competing site. Open the apps for the networks within a few miles and read their posted prices at the time of day your customers will charge.
  3. Your state's rules on how you may bill. Where a state has adopted the NIST method-of-sale rule, electricity sold as vehicle fuel must be sold by the kWh, with time-based fees limited to separately disclosed parking or overstay charges. Pricing Commercial EV Charging walks through the legal constraint and the method of setting a rate.

What to watch

The sources that updated this page publish monthly, so the numbers change. Two signals are worth watching. One is whether Electrify America keeps retreating from its summer increases; its November median is $0.60. The other is Tesla's standard rate, which rose in September and October after dipping in August.


Last factually verified: November 3, 2026. Network, state, and national price figures are from DCFC Tracker (dcfctracker.com): the national price index, its Electrify America, EVgo, and Tesla Supercharger reports, the reports index for Rivian Adventure Network and Pilot Flying J, and its methodology page, all with data as of November 3, 2026. DCFC Tracker is a third-party aggregator, not affiliated with any charging network, and its November reports were still in progress at the time of writing. We did not independently price individual stalls. Home electricity price is from the U.S. Energy Information Administration's Electric Power Monthly (August 2026 data). Networks change prices without notice; confirm the price in the network's app before you charge.

evcharginghelp.com is editorially independent and receives no compensation from any company mentioned.

Common questions

Frequently asked questions

How much does DC fast charging cost per kWh in 2026?

The national average for non-members was about $0.55 per kWh on November 3, 2026, per the DCFC Tracker price index. Individual networks range from roughly $0.55 to $0.64 on average, and state averages range from under $0.40 to over $1.00.

Is Electrify America more expensive than Tesla?

On November 3, 2026, Electrify America averaged $0.613 per kWh and Tesla's standard Supercharger rate averaged $0.624, so they are close. Tesla's membership rate averaged $0.434, which is where the real gap opens.

Why does the same network charge different prices in different states?

Networks price by site, reflecting local electricity costs, demand charges, and rent. Electrify America's California average was $0.693 per kWh against $0.507 in Alabama in the November 3, 2026 tracker data.

Is DC fast charging more expensive than charging at home?

Yes, typically about three times as much. The average U.S. home electricity price is about 18 cents per kWh (EIA, August 2026 data), against about 55 cents on public fast chargers.

Sources & verificationLast verified Nov 3, 2026

This article draws on 7 primary sources, cited inline where each figure appears. We re-check the numbers when incentive amounts, regulations, or product availability change.

Last updated Nov 3, 2026

ShareLinkedInXEmail
Keep reading
For homeowners

Public EV Charging Idle Fees by Network

Idle fees, the charge that kicks in when you leave your EV plugged into a public charger after it stops pulling power, catch a lot of first-time public chargers off guard. Tesla, which now calls its charge a congestion fee, bills a typical $0.50 per minute in the U.S. at busy Superchargers after a 5-minute grace period, and varies by site. Electrify America charges $0.40 per minute after 10 minutes. EVgo, ChargePoint, and Blink leave the policy to the individual station, visible in the app before you plug in. Past the dollar amounts, there is an unwritten etiquette code, move at 80-90% on a fast charger, never unplug someone else's car, do not treat a charging bay as a parking space, that avoids most of the actual conflict.

Updated Oct 20268 min read
For homeowners

EV Registration Fees by State in 2026

Forty-one states now charge EV owners a dedicated annual registration fee on top of standard registration, meant to replace the gas tax revenue an EV doesn't pay at the pump. New Jersey's escalating ZEV fee reached $270 on July 1, 2026, quietly passing Michigan's $267 to become the country's highest. Nine states and D.C. still charge nothing extra. This is the full ranked list, sourced to each state's own statute or DMV, plus what the fee actually costs against what an EV saves on fuel.

Updated Oct 202612 min read
For homeowners

Per-Mile EV Road Charges by State, 2026

Four states run a per-mile road usage charge for EV owners as an alternative to the flat annual EV fee: Oregon, Utah, Virginia and Hawaii. Utah's is capped at its flat fee, Virginia's is capped at its highway use fee, Hawaii's is capped at $50, and Hawaii will make per-mile mandatory for EVs on July 1, 2028. Oregon is heading the same way. Which option costs you less comes down to annual miles, and the break-even is somewhere between roughly 6,000 and 14,000 miles depending on the state. Illinois has a bill but no program.

Updated Oct 20268 min read

The Weekly EV Charging Briefing

One email a week. Just EV news that matters, with a TLDR at the top.

By subscribing you agree to our Privacy Policy. Unsubscribe any time.

The Weekly EV Charging Briefing

One email a week. Just EV news that matters.

By subscribing you agree to our Privacy Policy. Unsubscribe any time.