EV Charging Help
Commercial · News & Insights7 min read

Originally reported by LAZ and indiGOtech Form Joint Venture to Bring Sustainable EV Charging to More Apartments and Condos (PR Newswire, Oct. 20, 2026)

LAZ Parking and EverCharge Take Aim at Apartment Charging: What the Joint Venture Means for Multifamily Owners

On October 20, 2026, LAZ Parking and indiGOtech (trading as GO), the parent of EverCharge, announced a joint venture to sell managed Level 2 charging to apartment and condo properties across LAZ's footprint of about 5,700 locations. The pitch rests on EverCharge's SmartPower load management, which the companies say lets a building run up to five times as many ports on the same electrical supply. The announcement names no resident pricing, no first properties, and no install target, so owners should treat it as a new bidder to evaluate, not a benchmark.

By EV Charging Help editorial teamFor commercialOct 21, 2026
On this page

On October 20, 2026, LAZ Parking announced a joint venture with indiGOtech, which trades as GO and is EverCharge's parent, to sell managed EV charging to apartment and condo properties. LAZ manages parking at about 5,700 locations and roughly 2.1 million spaces in the United States and Canada. EverCharge already runs more than 10,000 charging ports at over 1,000 multifamily properties. LAZ says the venture takes its charging network to 25,000 ports across North America. The offering is branded LAZ Multifamily EV Charging Powered by EverCharge SmartPower.

The number to hold onto is not 25,000. It is the one the companies gave for how the chargers fit on a building's wiring: SmartPower, they say, can run up to five times as many ports on the same source power (the building's electrical service). That is a vendor claim, not an independent measurement, and it is the claim that decides whether this venture matters to an owner with an old building and a full electrical room.

What the venture actually is

Two businesses with different strengths are being joined. EverCharge sells Level 2 chargers plus the software that divides a building's available electrical capacity among the vehicles plugged in at any moment. LAZ brings the relationships: it already manages parking for a large number of residential, commercial, and mixed-use properties, so it can put a charging offer in front of owners who would otherwise never call a charging company. The rollout will use EverCharge's EVO3 Level 2 charger.

The companies describe a broader strategic relationship between LAZ and GO beyond the venture itself. The announcement does not state the ownership split between the partners, and no coverage we found reported one.

Why load management is the whole story

Most older apartment buildings cannot give every parking space its own 40-amp circuit, which supports about 7.7 kW of continuous charging. As an illustration (our arithmetic, not a figure from the companies), a 100-space garage with every stall at 7 kW would ask for roughly 700 kW at once, more than many buildings' entire service. The traditional fix is a service upgrade, which means the utility, new switchgear, and a project that can take months.

Load management takes a different route. Instead of reserving full power for every port, software watches what the building is drawing and what each car is asking for, then divides the spare capacity among the cars that are plugged in. Overnight, when residents are parked and the building is quiet, a modest amount of capacity can still refill a lot of batteries, because most drivers need to replace tens of miles of range, not a full pack. As an illustration, 2 kW per car over 10 hours delivers about 20 kWh, roughly 60 to 80 miles for a typical EV. We cover the mechanism and its limits in our electrical infrastructure assessment.

The tradeoff is real and the announcement does not discuss it. When many residents plug in at once, each car charges slower. For an owner, that is a service-level question: how many hours does a typical resident need, and what happens on the evening when half the garage arrives with a low battery?

Datable milestones

  • October 20, 2026. LAZ and indiGOtech announce the joint venture and the LAZ Multifamily EV Charging offering. Source: the PR Newswire release as reproduced by Morningstar, corroborated by Electrek and The EV Report.
  • Before the announcement. EverCharge's existing base: more than 10,000 ports at over 1,000 apartment and condo properties, with more than 50,000 registered drivers, per the companies.
  • Not yet dated. First properties, install targets, and a rollout schedule. Electrek reports the announcement sets no target or timeline for new apartment and condo installations.

Who should pay attention, and who can skip it

If you own or manage an older multifamily property with a constrained electrical service and a resident base that is starting to ask about charging, this is worth a call. A parking manager that already walks your property, bundled with a charging vendor that already has more than 1,000 multifamily installations behind it, is a credible bidder, and the reference list is something you can actually check.

If you own a new building with ample service capacity, the load-management pitch matters less. Your constraint is more likely cost per port and who owns the revenue, and those are the questions the announcement does not answer.

If you manage a small property with a handful of EV-driving residents, you may not need a managed network yet. Our look at multifamily charging as a lease-renewal factor lays out why demand is real but unevenly measured, and why starting with a pilot is reasonable.

What the announcement leaves out

Question an owner should askWhat the announcement says
What do residents pay per kWh or per month?Not disclosed
Who owns the chargers, and who keeps the revenue?Not disclosed
Which properties come first?Not disclosed
How many new ports, by when?No target or timeline set
How much slower does charging get when the building is busy?Not addressed
What does the "5X" assume about baseline capacity and charger size?Not specified; vendor claim

None of this is unusual for a launch announcement. It does mean an owner cannot use this deal as a price benchmark. Every contract will be negotiated per property, and terms such as who pays for make-ready work, who handles resident billing, and what happens at the end of the term will matter more than the headline port count. Our comparison of own, operate, turnkey, and hybrid models walks through those structures, and our guide to software platforms for commercial charging covers what to ask about the load-management layer itself.

What to do now

  • Get a load study first. Before any vendor conversation, have an electrician document your service size, spare capacity, and panel layout. Every managed-charging bid, this one included, is only as good as that baseline.
  • Ask any bidder to define "more ports" in kilowatts. "Up to 5X" needs a stated starting point. Ask for the minimum per-car charging rate under a full-garage scenario.
  • Request references at properties like yours. EverCharge's 1,000-plus installations make this easy to test. Ask for buildings of similar age and size, and ask the managers about resident complaints.
  • Compare against at least one non-bundled bid. A parking manager's bundled offer may be convenient; that does not make it the cheapest or the best fit.
  • Read the billing terms before the hardware terms. Who sets resident rates, who collects, and who bears non-payment are where multifamily charging contracts differ most.

Last factually verified: 2026-10-21. The primary PR Newswire release could not be fetched from our environment (network access to the host was blocked), so the figures here were cross-checked across search-indexed excerpts of that release, Electrek's October 20, 2026 coverage, The EV Report, and Morningstar's copy of the release. The "up to 5X" figure is the companies' own claim. The ownership split between the partners was not found in any source and is left out on purpose. evcharginghelp.com is editorially independent and receives no compensation from any company named here.

Sources & verificationLast verified Oct 21, 2026

This article draws on 3 primary sources, cited inline where each figure appears. We re-check the numbers when incentive amounts, regulations, or product availability change.

Originally reported by LAZ and indiGOtech Form Joint Venture to Bring Sustainable EV Charging to More Apartments and Condos (PR Newswire, Oct. 20, 2026).

Last updated Oct 21, 2026

ShareLinkedInXEmail
Keep reading
For commercial

ChargePoint and Optimus Energy Solutions Expand a Southeast Fast-Charging Buildout

ChargePoint announced on July 7, 2026 that it is expanding its partnership with Optimus Energy Solutions, a Florida-based charge point operator, to add more than 200 new fast-charging ports at quick-service restaurants and retail centers across the Southeast. It is the second growth move from Optimus in a month: on June 10 it acquired a 52-charger network of 26 sites in South Carolina originally developed through a Duke Energy pilot program. Neither deal is large by national standards, but together they show a working version of a model most commercial property owners never see up close: a regional operator owns the equipment and carries the operating risk, a national vendor supplies the hardware and software underneath it, and the property owner hosts the site without becoming a charging company.

Updated Oct 20269 min read
For commercial

Flipturn vs. ChargePoint: Einride's $38 Million Charging Software Deal, Explained for Property Managers and Fleets

On July 21, 2026, newly public autonomous-freight company Einride announced an agreement to buy Flipturn, a four-year-old New York software startup, for an estimated $38.4 million in stock at closing, subject to adjustments, plus up to about $33 million in additional stock if earnout milestones are met. Flipturn's platform manages charging schedules, uptime, and utility costs for fleets including Werner, Swift, Republic Services, and the City of Seattle, and Einride says the deal adds more than 250 megawatts of managed charging capacity, more than doubling its own energy portfolio. The transaction is a case study in where value is concentrating in commercial EV charging: not just in chargers, but in the software that decides when they run and what they cost to operate.

Updated Oct 20268 min read
For commercial

Electrify America Starts Retrofitting NACS Onto Its Busiest Charging Hubs

Electrify America opened its newest large-format hub in Santa Barbara on June 17, 2026, 20 stalls at up to 350 kW with a 1.9 MW battery buffer, and it opened with every stall wired for CCS. Two weeks later the company said it would convert some of those same stalls, plus other busy hubs in California and on the East Coast, to add NACS. It is a real signal but a small one: a limited test-and-learn pilot, with 15 sites listed on the company's pilot page as of October 17, 2026 (11 live, four targeted for fall 2026), out of a network of more than 1,000 stations. For a commercial property owner planning a new DC fast charging site in 2026, the honest takeaway is not "switch to NACS" but "do not build a connector you cannot change."

Updated Oct 202610 min read

Want the complete commercial guide?

The Commercial Charging Playbook covers evaluating, planning, and operating EV charging, including the funding programs that can cover most of the cost.

The Weekly EV Charging Briefing

One email a week. Just EV news that matters.

By subscribing you agree to our Privacy Policy. Unsubscribe any time.